Jabung Temple


Candi Jabung is situated close to the main coastal road, about five kilometres east of Kraksaan, in the district of Probolinggo. Constructed almost entirely of red brick, the main building displays a form which is both unique and impressive. From a quadrangular base, a cylindrical body rises to a height of just under 16 metres. The roof, now incomplete, was apparently dome shaped. Excavations have revealed that the principal monument was originally set in a square, walled enclosure, the four corners of which were marked by smaller buildings known as menara sudut, each one measuring about six metres in height. Although the surrounding wall is no longer visible, the menara sudut occupying the south western corner of the complex can still be seen.

The Pararaton refers to the original name of this site as Bajrajinaparamitapura, a Buddhist shrine dedicated to a member of the Majapahit royal family. Dating from A.D. 1354, Candi Jabung appears further to have been referred to in the Nagarakertagama as one of the places visited by King Hayam Wuruk during his tour of the eastern provinces in 1359.


Visit : Jabung temple Website
(Contain Many Photos)


Copyrights © 1998-2007 All Right Reserved Memory of Majapahit
Member of Eastjava.com |Powered by IndonesiaCommerce.com | Promoted by IndonesiaWebPromotion.com